A Peek into my Process: Water Says What?


This was my original drawing for the page on steam…my beta readers (i.e. my husband and my son) agreed that it was hard to tell what the water on the ground was. Both thought the steam looked more like an…odor. I also didn’t feel like the perspective was quite right. So below is my second try.

The perspective is better, the colors are more in sync with the rest of the book, and it’s more concrete and relatable. In real life, many kids have seen steam in this context. And the chicken is a nod to my mom’s kitchen, a theme which she has embraced with gusto. All kitchens must have at least one chicken now…at least in my mind. 

Happy reading! 

Leave a Reply

